|
#1

Nov 4, 2009, 07:28 PM
|
|
Hello,
I'm trying to figure out why my logo keeps it's left position based on the browser and not the "Logo Area" which causes it to float too far to the left when viewed on a large cinema monitor.
It's almost like the logo is set up to align left regardless what the rest of the fixed container is doing.
This is most likely due to my lack of CSS experience. I've tried quite a few variations but end up with similar results
Basically I need the logo to line up with the left side of the main container then push it 20 pixels to the right.
Can anyone give me an idea what I should be doing to make that happen on a fixed layout of 1250 pixels?
Thanks for your help!!
|
#2

Nov 5, 2009, 05:18 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
What version of Atahualpa and WP?
What is the URL?
p.s. NIce site!
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
Last edited by juggledad; Nov 5, 2009 at 08:25 AM.
|
#3

Nov 5, 2009, 08:08 AM
|
|
My apologies!
WP: 2.8.4
Ap: 3.4.4
URL: http://www.coreywolfe.com/
Also here's the styling I currently have set up:
Logo Area:
Code:
height: 120px;
width: 1250px;
margin-left:auto;
margin-right:auto;
Logo Image:
Code:
position: absolute;
left:-35px;
top:10px;
z-index:+1;
Thanks!
|
#4

Nov 5, 2009, 08:23 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
oh, you are using position: absolute; use 'relative' instead
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#5

Nov 5, 2009, 08:49 AM
|
|
You're right that does put it into the correct position but it opens another can of worms.
Here's an image which demonstrates what happens with the header seperation it creates. The owner wanted me to tuck the contact button as close to the beige line as I could...but that forces the logo left.
Maybe there's a way to push the right column up now?
Thanks for your help!!
|
#6

Nov 5, 2009, 11:44 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
you could try the method described in the gold forum: How to overlay the LOGO on the Header Image in versions 3.4->3.4.4 ( http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=2729)
I'm 99% sure that will work for you
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#7

Nov 5, 2009, 11:47 AM
|
|
I'm running into an issue viewing that link.
It says I do not have permission to access the page.
|
#8

Nov 5, 2009, 11:49 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
oh, right - I see you are not a gold member. that forum and the posts to it are a bonus for people that have donated to Flynn or myself.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#9

Nov 5, 2009, 11:53 AM
|
|
Gotcha! What amount sets you up as a gold member?
Does it happen automatically afterwards or do I need to request it?
|
#10

Nov 5, 2009, 11:57 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
any amount $20 or more. If you donate me (Juggledad), I have to run a quick transaction to cause your status to change.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#11

Nov 5, 2009, 12:12 PM
|
|
Since I love Atahualpa and I appreciate all your help, plus there appear to be added bonuses...how can I go wrong?!?
Done Deal
|
#12

Nov 9, 2009, 09:18 PM
|
|
Hey Juggledad,
Today was the first chance I had to try and attack that header/logo issue I've been struggling with. After following the instructions you sent me I found that the entire header got wipped out when I implemented the %overlay-logo setting.
I played around with a few things including removing my CSS I had indicated above but nothing changed. Anytime I call that %overlay-logo the header disappears.
Last edited by juggledad; Nov 10, 2009 at 03:06 AM.
|
#13

Nov 10, 2009, 03:35 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
Ahhh, your not using a header image. Check for a PM with a change to the code for your case.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
Last edited by juggledad; Nov 16, 2009 at 06:38 AM.
|
#14

Nov 10, 2009, 08:30 AM
|
|
By 'PM' did you mean private message? If so, I'm not seeing one.
Maybe this enitre problem is being caused by the fact that I'm using an image in the logo area background rather making it a header image. Not really sure why I chose that route...especially since it seems to make more sense.
Here's the styling I have in place for the logo area:
Code:
height: 120px;
width: 1250px;
margin-left:auto;
margin-right:auto;
background: url(...wp-content/themes/atahualpa/images/headerBack.png);
background-repeat:no-repeat;
Last edited by juggledad; Nov 16, 2009 at 06:38 AM.
|
#15

Nov 10, 2009, 08:47 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
Hmmm I sent it at 5:40 AM today, I'll send it again - yes it is caused because your are using a logo image instead of a header image, the change I'm sending shoud fix that.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#16

Nov 14, 2009, 11:20 AM
|
|
Well, I gave it another shot this time using a header image and I got close.
What would happen is this...
If I used: %overlay-logo %image
I would get the header image but no logo.
If I used: %logo %image
I would get a logo but no header image
So I tried: %overlay-logo %logo %image
which gave me two logos and a header image
For some reason the only way I would see the header image is when I would call the %overlay-logo yet just %overlay-logo gave me nothin...?
I'm starting to feel bad for bugging ya
|
#17

Nov 16, 2009, 06:41 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
try just using '%logo' and '%logo-overlay'
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
|