|
#1

Aug 13, 2014, 09:35 AM
|
|
Hi,
Is it doable to make a new widget area after the first excerpt in the center column and, if so, how do I do it?
I'm talking about the following site: www.elektroretailmagazine.nl
Cheers,
Tim
|
#2

Aug 13, 2014, 04:08 PM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
One way would be to edit index.php and put some code in the loop to check if it is a multi post page and if the post count is 2 and then execute the new widget code
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#3

Aug 14, 2014, 01:29 AM
|
|
Goodmorning JD (at least, over here it's morning),
Thnx for the reply. 2 more questions: where can I see & learn what this code would look like and if I alter index.php, does this mean I'll have to do this after each theme update?
|
#4

Aug 14, 2014, 03:23 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
the code would be something like this
HTML Code:
<?php if ($bfa_ata_postcount == 2) { bfa_widget_area('name=middle widget area');} ?>
and yes you will have to update index.php after each update.
UPDATE: that line would go right after the line
HTML Code:
<?php while (have_posts()) : the_post(); $bfa_ata_postcount++; ?>
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
Last edited by juggledad; Aug 15, 2014 at 11:31 AM.
|
#5

Aug 14, 2014, 03:46 AM
|
|
Thank you very much JD.
Would working with a child theme solve this problem? If so, I guess I'll have to dig into that.
Cheers,
Tim
|
#6

Aug 14, 2014, 03:57 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
not sure, you would have to try it out
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
Last edited by juggledad; Aug 14, 2014 at 04:05 AM.
|
#7

Aug 14, 2014, 04:03 AM
|
|
Okay, thanks. I have some homework te do.
Cheers,
Tim
|
#8

Aug 14, 2014, 04:05 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
there is a widget area at the top of the center area now but it will only work before the first post (and it is a theme option)
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#9

Aug 14, 2014, 04:15 AM
|
|
Yes, I know. But of course, that's too easy for me. I want it somewhere else, after the first (or second, or third...) excerpt.
|
#10

Aug 15, 2014, 08:57 AM
|
|
Tried inserting the code you gave me in functions.php, but that resulted in a syntax error. Either I placed it in the wrong place or there's something wrong with the code. Could you check to see if it's the latter, JD?
|
#11

Aug 15, 2014, 11:30 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
ummmm (warning: be prepared to give yourself a head slap) why don't you go back and read that post again about where I told you to put it
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#12

Aug 15, 2014, 12:05 PM
|
|
Oops, sorry. Guess it's Friday....
|
#13

Aug 27, 2014, 07:14 AM
|
|
Did everything you said, Juggeldad, but the widget won't appear....
|
#14

Aug 27, 2014, 07:26 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
what is the exact code you used and where did you put it?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#15

Aug 27, 2014, 09:17 AM
|
|
the code you gave me and the place you told me
|
#16

Aug 27, 2014, 09:59 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
if you go to the dashboard->appearances->widgets is the widget area showing up?
if not, attach a copy of your index.php to a reply
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#17

Aug 28, 2014, 03:33 AM
|
|
Hi JD,
Solved it. Just a matter of putting the code in the right place.
Thanks!
|
|