Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
There will be no more development for Atahualpa (or any other theme), and no support. Also no new registrations. I turned off the donation system. I may turn the forum to read only if it gets abused for spam. Unfortunately I have no time for the forum or the themes. Thanks a lot to the people who helped in all these years, especially Larry and of course: Paul. Take care and stay healthy -- Flynn, Atahualpa developer, Sep 2021

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Page & Category Menu Bars »

expand width of menu, hover help


  #1  
Old Nov 24, 2013, 05:21 AM
daisy24
 
40 posts · Feb 2009
Hi Juggledad,
I am a diamond member and also made a donation to you with PayPal this morning.

I am having trouble getting my menu to go across the width. I thought I followed your instructions, but must have done something wrong. I don't want borders between the items, but want a dashed border underneath.

I would also like a color change when I hover, but to go back to original color after clicking instead of staying the hover color when you're on the clicked page.

Thank you.

Daisy24
Ellen

http://www.ellifolks.com/blog/
  #2  
Old Nov 24, 2013, 05:55 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Quote:
I would also like a color change when I hover, but to go back to original color after clicking instead of staying the hover color when you're on the clicked page.
go to ago->MENU 1 (Page Menu) and set
Background color
Background color: Hover
Background color: Parent
all to the same value (FFFFFF = white)
go to ago->Add HTML/CSS Inserts->CSS Inserts and add the following
HTML Code:
/* "current" page and hover */
div#menu1 ul.rMenu li.current-menu-item > a:hover, 
div#menu1 ul.rMenu li.current_page_item > a:hover,
div#menu1 ul.rMenu li.current-menu-item a:hover, 
div#menu1 ul.rMenu li.current_page_item a:hover, 
div#menu1 ul.rMenu li a:hover {
	background-color: #00ffff;
	}
you may want to change the 00ffff to some other color.


to get the menu items spaced evenly try this add to the CSS Inserts
HTML Code:
div#menu1 ul.rMenu li {
    margin-left: 178px;
}
li#menu-item-3206 {
    margin-left: 0 !important;
}
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by juggledad; Nov 24, 2013 at 06:00 AM.
  #3  
Old Nov 24, 2013, 08:58 AM
daisy24
 
40 posts · Feb 2009
Hi Juggledad,

Thank you for your help!

I have the menu set so the background doesn't change when hovering or clicking. I meant for the menu text I would like the color to change only when hovering, not when clicked on the page. Sorry I didn't explain clearly.

The menu is now going across the width, but the line under it has breaks where the words are. Is there a way to have the line go across with no breaks? I also didn't want a line above or any vertical border. Is there a way to do this?

Thank you!

Daisy24

http://www.ellifolks.com/blog/
  #4  
Old Nov 24, 2013, 11:32 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
change the 'background-color' to 'color'

to get rid of the dashes add
HTML Code:
div#menu1 {
	border: none;
}
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #5  
Old Nov 30, 2013, 06:50 AM
daisy24
 
40 posts · Feb 2009
still have breaks in menu bar & clicked page menu items still stay hover color

Hi Juggledad,

I think I did as you suggested for fixing the breaks in the line under the menu and having menu hover color go back to normal state after clicking, but it is still the same. It's very possible I did something incorrectly or misunderstood exactly what to do. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Daisy24

http://www.ellifolks.com/blog/

Last edited by juggledad; Nov 30, 2013 at 11:32 AM.
  #6  
Old Nov 30, 2013, 11:36 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
I don't see the frirst part of the code I gave you in post #2 in your code. Did you remove it?
(P.S. don't open new threads for a continuing issue.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #7  
Old Nov 30, 2013, 04:09 PM
daisy24
 
40 posts · Feb 2009
Hi Juggledad,

Sorry, I wasn't sure where to post.

Is this the code you mean? I did take it out because it deleted the whole line under the menu items. What I was trying to do was to get rid of the breaks in the line that are under the words of the menu items. With it out, I did have my dashed line that I wanted, but it still had the breaks in it.

div#menu1 {
border: none;
}

Thank you.

Daisy24
  #8  
Old Nov 30, 2013, 07:23 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Well it looks like you decided to remove the menu altogether. So should I consider this issue resolved?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #9  
Old Dec 1, 2013, 03:56 AM
daisy24
 
40 posts · Feb 2009
The menu should be back up. I activated an old version of the theme by mistake and it didn't have the menus. It took me a while to figure out what happened.

I put the code back in and the line under the menu has disappeared.

Daisy24
  #10  
Old Dec 1, 2013, 04:29 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
It is helpful to be clear on what you are trying to do, only discuess one issue at a time and not be changing the site while waitig for help - not doing that results in the volunteer moderators wasting their time. A point to keep in mind.

There is a border that goes around all the menu items. It is also possible to underline text anywhere on the site using the 'text-decoration: underline;' CSS rule. Using FireBug you could have found that this CSS will work to underline the menu items:
HTML Code:
div#menu1 ul.rMenu li a:link, div#menu1 ul.rMenu li a:hover, div#menu1 ul.rMenu li a:visited, div#menu1 ul.rMenu li a:active {
     text-decoration: underline;
}
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Bookmarks



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
autoadjust width of menu items to fill page width rainbow Page & Category Menu Bars 1 Jun 5, 2013 08:20 AM
*problem* cant get the page menu background to expand to the left side of the layout eahing Page & Category Menu Bars 0 Apr 14, 2011 01:41 AM
[SOLVED] Child menu hover color does not cover the width of the menu. tugi Page & Category Menu Bars 2 Aug 11, 2010 11:34 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.