|
#1

Oct 6, 2012, 02:25 PM
|
|
I'm having an issue with placing the author name in the right place on a single post page (single.php). I would like to have the author name between the post title and the tags field, but that doesn't work.
I'm trying to place the name has a h4 field like so: <h4><?php the_author(); ?></h4>
It doesn't work before the_content() is called, but starts working immediately after the_content() is called.
Am I missing something?
|
#2

Oct 6, 2012, 04:50 PM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
you might want to put it in the sub Template 'postformat'
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#3

Oct 10, 2012, 06:49 AM
|
|
Does this not change the format for the excerpts on the list of posts? I would like to add the author to the actual post page.
|
#4

Oct 10, 2012, 08:43 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
It seems that there is a problem with retreiving the author meta data. I have a message into the developer and am waiting a response.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#5

Oct 14, 2012, 08:05 AM
|
|
Any update yet?
|
#6

Oct 14, 2012, 11:36 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
He is working on a new release but that is all I know at this point.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
Last edited by juggledad; Oct 19, 2012 at 05:47 AM.
|
#7

Oct 27, 2012, 09:21 AM
|
|
hi there,
not able either to sucessfully use "the_author_posts_link()" in single.php before "the_content()" is called in the template...
guess the same issue as mentionned by gantred... any news ???
this is quite embarrasing...
cheers
raf
|
#8

Oct 27, 2012, 10:07 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
I've reported it. If you put it AFTER the_content() it will work.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#9

Oct 28, 2012, 02:28 AM
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by juggledad
I've reported it. If you put it AFTER the_content() it will work.
|
yep, i saw this from previous posts. it remains a problem if you want something like :
______________________________
The post title
published by author on date
the content of the post
_____________________________
which is quite a common and logical display.
thanks for having reported anyway... will be waiting for upgrade
Do you think it should work better if a physical template is used ?? (i'll give a try and let you know...)
cheers
raf
|
#10

Nov 20, 2012, 08:32 AM
|
|
Any progress on this? I have the same issue.
|
#11

Nov 20, 2012, 09:00 AM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
I haven't heard anything from the developer.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
#12

Nov 23, 2012, 08:00 PM
|
|
I made a separate main template for each author. So under Appearance>Montezuma Option>Main Templates I selected "add main template," I called it "Author's Name-Template," and I opted that it be a copy of the "single" template. Then I altered it so that right after the closing </h1> tag of the post title section I put in a line saying "<h3>Authors Name</h3>".
This means that each author always has to select a separate template -- but it does make it look good to the reader.
This may be too hokey for you, but in case it works for someone I wanted to share.
Last edited by RobertO; Nov 23, 2012 at 08:16 PM.
Reason: had made error
|
#13

Jan 28, 2013, 12:22 PM
|
|
Yay! I've solved it!
Edit three lines in the file called parse_php.php, starting at line 28, as follows:
Code:
$need_loop = array( 'the_content', 'the_author' );
// not only the_content needs loop
if( ! in_the_loop() && in_array( $function_name, $need_loop ) ) {
So... Add the name of every single wordpress function (which requires the loop) you want to use to the $need_loop array.
Moreover, add !in_the_loop() constraint.
And that's all. Enjoy!
|
#14

Mar 5, 2013, 07:24 AM
|
|
Excellent, thanks very much!
|
#15

Mar 13, 2013, 03:53 PM
|
 |
|
|
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
|
|
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
|
|